will you be…

one of the first questions I remember being asked after Kurt and I got engaged was, “how many bridesmaids are you going to have?!” and quickly following that question, “who are you going to ask?!” I’ve said it here before, but I really was never that girl who dreamed of her wedding. and even though I am a sorority woman, I didn’t go through my college years dreaming of the day my chapter sisters would be standing up with me. so for quite some time, I didn’t know who I wanted to ask. I didn’t know how many I wanted to have. to be honest, I didn’t even know if I wanted to have bridesmaids at all!

during my most recent visit to Kurt over the Christmas holiday, we talked again about whether or not we wanted to have a bridal party. after thinking more about what we wanted our day to be like, we decided that yes, a bridal party was indeed for us. our desire to share this day with those friends and family closest to us helped us realize how important including these people would be. and I think knowing we will celebrate with them will allow us to feel comfortable and relaxed all throughout the day.

so when I decided on who I was going to ask (those details coming at a later date!), I thought a lot about how I wanted to ask these women. if you search on Pinterest for “how to ask your bridesmaids” too many options show up. seriously – try it. I went from excited that I had made this decision to immediately overwhelmed at how to carry it out. so I decided to crowdsource instead, asking women who I know that are married and/or have been bridesmaids before. this direction was much more helpful. and from those conversations, the little box below came to life!

photo 4

each bridesmaid will get the same little box – a quick notecard outlining the most important details, a handmade bracelet and nail polish for them to wear on the big day, a photo book with bridesmaid introductions, the dress options they have to choose from, and inspiration Kurt and I are using to plan the celebration, and a lovely card asking them to join us on this special day.

my favorite part of the box is definitely the photo book. this idea I saw on one of my favorite wedding blogs – Snippet & Ink. I used the 4×6 photo book template from vistaprint and filled the pages with all of the important information they will need to know. here are a few of my favorite page spreads!

photo 3

information about the dress choices they have

 

photo 2

the color palette and inspiration photos we are using

 

photo 1

a place to keep all of the important dates

I mailed each of them their boxes and now just have to wait for their responses… which I will admit has this nervous excitement running through me!

for those of you who are married, how did you ask your bridesmaids? and for those of you who are engaged but haven’t popped the question yet, how are you planning to ask? I look forward to reading your thoughts in the comments!

2 thoughts on “will you be…

Leave a Reply

